User Tag List

Thread: Need help choosing a clutch

Default Need help choosing a clutch

Hey guys

My Gen 1 3 MPS has already 90,000kms on it and i am feeling that its time to change the clutch. I was looking into npc clutches (too pricey for me tho),spec and act. All of them have different stages depending how modified your car is so i cant decide which one would be the best clutch for my car. If you guys have any suggestions or another clutch brand that you think is better than the ones i listed please tell me,i am a noob with clutches and all that stuff

The car has following mods:

Fujita F5 CAI
    Corksport TBE
    CPE FMIC
    Haltech piggyback (fitted and tuned by Allstars Tuning)
    TurboXS bov
    JB short shifter
    Lovells Springs
    Prosport boost gauge
    Scangauge Dashhawk
    HKS type-0 turbo timer

Thanks in advance

I have a ACt street clutch kit holds 500nm, will give a review when i drive it ( tomorrow)

I would say get a new stock clutch as you are not really that heavily modified. The after market ones make all kinds of noises (rattles,clunks) are not that comfortable to drive. They sound like something is broken. The spec ones are like on/off and there's no smooth transition into gears.

Looking forward to read your review Luke ! What do you think about 4 puck sprung/unsprung and 6 puck sprung/unsprung act clutches?

As for the standard clutch,i feel that it doesnt really hold power at higher rpms. And i dont really mind the noises as long as the clutch works well.

Cheers

Coming up on 135,000kms here and I've been looking at exactly the same thing...

ACT HD Street Clutch/Flywheel kits.
    ACT MAZDASPEED 3 HD Clutch/Flywheel Kit, Street Disc Kit

Either that or getting something done by DCS:
    Clutches - International supplier clutch kits, clutch parts, clutch plates, clutch cylinder.