User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP! From people of Perth especially...

Default HELP! From people of Perth especially...

HI guys, need to ask some help from you guys. I'm currently driving the 6 MPS, and my wife has got her MX-5. She is currently about 5 and half months pregnant though, and the talk about getting a family car has arisen. We're contemplating just swapping cars, but she hates the clutch pedal of the 6 MPS, that it's too heavy and the travel is too high/long. I've tried getting the Mazda dealer to adjust it at my last service, but they refused to...something to do with that "It is made at that height for a specific reason bla bla bla..."

So, my question is, does anyone in Perth know of a good mechanic I can bring my car to get the clutch pedal adjusted? I've read the clutch pedal adjustment thread, but I'm a complete noob at such things, there is a high chance of me stuffing things up! IF there's anyone in the Perth region that can help, that would be great...otherwise we may have to sell the MX-5 and buy another car, currently looking at either the SP25 or the Gold 118 TSI...

Thanks guys!

---------- Post added at 08:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:44 AM ----------

Sorry, thread title should read "From people OF Perth especially..."
    Last edited by rogwick; 03-02-2011 at 10:48 AM. Reason: edited title

Is your 6 MPS the 05 build? I believe that is model had the grabby clutch and would benifit most from the "clutch pedal adjustment" thread. It worked great on mine. The force required to depress the clutch pedal is roughly the same but its more consistant where as the stock setup used to get much harder right at the friction point which made it hard for some people to drive. I'm not sure if there is others way to adjust the clutch in this car to make it softer or shorter throw.

I know the clutch in the series 2 SP23 is very wife friendly as it take about the same force to depress as the accelerator pedal.