User Tag List

Thread: 6 MPS no clutch after 46.5k km is this normal ?

1. Default 6 MPS no clutch after 46.5k km is this normal ?

Hi Guys

I'm new to all of this and would like to her from others regarding what appears to be an issue with the clutch of my 6 MPS. The car is stock standard - no modifications and until this week ran beautifully.
    The car was purchased new three and a half years ago from a dealer and has been serviced on a regualr basis. On Wednesday this week the clutch appera to have gone to god after only 46.5 k km. I can drive it but can't move the gear sick if the revs are above 2000 to 2500 rpm.
    I called the dealer and asked that it be booked in to be repaired, they can't look at the car until mid next week. As result I called a couple of mechanics who gve me quotes of around $4.5k for genuine parts and labour and $3.5k for aftermarket.

• One - is it normal for a clutch to die so soon? - this has never happened to me with cars I have owned even after 100k km.
    • Two - is it worht arguing with Mazda given that the car is out of warranty.
    I look forward to hearing from you experts regarding the matter.

Regards

CCV

Wow those prices are huge, I thought more around $1500... Where do you live and I must find out from my contacts..... I'm at 58k's and going strong but mines a MPS3 ?????

3. Default

Yep it is very expensive.

I live in Melbounre , if anyone knows of a cheaper alternative to the genuine job and knows a good mechanic to do the job I would be happy to hear from them.

CCV

Well here is your cheaper option;
    http://www.ozmpsclub.com/forum/gener...93-500kms.html