User Tag List

Thread: Prima Hydro or Slick?

Default Prima Hydro or Slick?

Hi guys,

I'm a detailing noob, and I've decided to educate myself. I've got myself a liquid wax (meguiar's), polish, car soap and all the microfibre stuff and have been doing a bit of my own detailing (following ZAS's detailing library).

I have about 80 bucks to spend on some more stuff and I was thinking about getting Prima Amigo, ZAS clay bar and lubricant and either Prima Hydro or Prima Slick for keeping up the shine. What are the differences between the two?

I have the time to regularly give my car a bit of a wash and wax, so I don't mind getting a product that isn't as durable, but then again durability is always a plus .

So I'd love to hear any advice/recommendations you guys might have. THANKS.

EDIT: Actually should I even get amigo? Maybe banana gloss instead? I'm looking for a really nice shine...
    Last edited by ZER0K; 01-04-2010 at 08:49 PM.

Hi There

I often have the same drama. Slick or Hydro?

Hydro - Is a synthetic wax in spray form. Boosts protection, adds some nice gloss to the finish and will add 4-6 weeks to your current protection.

Slick - Is an anti-static quick detail spray. Gives a very sharp and slick finish. Doesn't boost protection like Hydro.

IMO Slick looks better, but Hydro serves more of a purpose.

If you already have the Megs polish then you are kind of doubling up getting the Amigo. I'd skip it, get the clay kit (assuming your car needs a clay?), either the Slick or the Hydro.

If you've got some change, then you could look at products for other areas of the car like interior, or wheels, tyres etc.

One thing that always compliments your hard work on the paint is good looking tyres! I'm using Blackfire Long Lasting Tyre Gel at the moment. It doesn't last as long as the name might suggest, but geeze it looks good.

Thanks heaps for the advice!