User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: oil catchcan Gen 1 mps3

Default oil catchcan Gen 1 mps3

Hi everyone,

jus thinking about an oil catch can alot lately and was jus wondering if any1 can help me with some info?

prices? how to fit, easy or time consuming?

fitting instructions maybe or some direction if ther has been threads created on this topic befor, coz i havnt had much luck finding any.

benefits and how they work etc.

does it replace the PCV valve or does it still use the stock one.

Thanks, KARL

I'm no expert on this so someone please correct me if i'm wrong. There are two breather lines coming from the valve cover, one goes to the intake manifold (through the PCV vlave) and the other goes to your air intake pipe. An oil catch can can be installed in series with either or both of these lines. Its purpose is to extract the oil and other waste products from the blow by gasses and prevent them from being recirculated back into your engine. If the oil in the blow by gasses is not removed it will lower the octane rating of your fuel and line the insides of your intake piping and intercooler with oil and muck. I'm not sure about the installation as i have never attempted it before.

There is a few on ebay for about $65. Not sure if there is much difference between an ebay OCC and a brand name one.

You will still need the PCV valve as this stops boost pressure from the manifold entering the crank case.

The attached PDF is a bit long but has a lot of info.

Hope this helped
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Toddy22587; 28-02-2010 at 01:30 AM.

Nice find on the article.

I had one fitted for Jamboree. I didn't notice any difference in intake oil etc. I've since removed it.

An OCC is only really any good if you are starting to have oil concerns. A decent/excellent PCV is the main issue.

If you do decide to get an OCC, make sure it has internal baffles. An open internal one will do nothing.