User Tag List

Thread: 3MPS and Koni FSD fitment issues

1. Default 3MPS and Koni FSD fitment issues

I am seriously thinking of putting a set of Koni FSD on my gen 1 MPS. However, after viewing Koni FSD install how-to and forum posts on them, it seems that there are fitment issues for the DIY'ers.

- had to grind the paint of the front strut bottom to fit into the mount (exposed metal)
    - rear strut lower bushing is narrower needing a washer otherwise bend mount
    - had to cut the front bump stop by 1/3

Koni FSD shock, strut, damper install - Mazdaspeed Forums

Does anyone think the pro will have the same fitment issues fitting them and taking shortcuts? and by pro I mean Mazda dealer/Pedders.

Does anyone know someone who has fitted Koni FSDs on their 3MPS the proper way with no problems (Brisbane area)?

I am a beginner (this will be my 2nd time) modder and really don't want to have to take my car back and forth to the installer with clunking and rattling in the suspensions. I really want them to be installed right the first time.
    Last edited by wyvernone; 08-12-2009 at 03:41 PM.

hi, I have a set of koni yellows.. i didnt have any issues with them.. did u spread the hub ( where teh front strut fits into the hub)? i used a wedge to pry apart the hub to fit the strut in. than tap lightly with a hammer to get it to 100% to the bottom than tightened up the clap bolt. it only took a little bit of paint off the strut. as for teh rear it was a perfect fit... hope this helps.. im not a expert but i have done 20-30 upgrades in my time..

---------- Post added at 06:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:46 PM ----------

as for pros doing it.. they would have the same problems the only different from us is they have a hoist, more tools, bit more knowage.. ... the only way to learn is to read up and do it yourself ( or ask here the guys here can help)

That write up makes them sound a bit like a novice.