User Tag List

Thread: MPS6 launch technique

Default MPS6 launch technique

I am new to my 05 MPS6 and have tried a few traffic light dashes but have a few questions about the best launch technique for a 6 MPS.

I tried the techinque I used with my old Galant VR4 (turbo4,4WD) and the clutch nearly fried itself. I revved the engine to about 4000 and dropped the clutch. It took a while to hook up (probably the clutch burning) and then it started to move off.

So I don't go through clutches quicker then fuel, any suggestions???

On a related topic, during each gear change I notice the engine takes a bit before it recognises that I have the accelorator pedal to the floor. I can only assume its the drive by wire. Any way to improve this???

Thanks for the help.

2. Default

I dont know if its my imagination or wishful thinking but after getting the SRI from Mals group buy last week, Im positive my care feels more responsive and much smoother between gear changes ... its the best $200 I ever spent

Hey mate, the 4000rpm launches seem to be (for me anyway) the quickest way to get my beast off the mark (in neck snapping fury I must add) My first few tries at this when I first got her made me cringe with all clutch frying, but after I while I got better at it. I seemed to find a balance between a split second of slipping the clutch and sliding your foot off, when this happens it connects and launches like no tomorrow with no burnt clutch smells

On your gear changes does it seem more like a stutter rather than a delay? I don't seem to get the hesitation but the occassional stutter when I change from 2nd to 3rd usually at WOT?

Some info on the stutter/hesitation here

http://www.ozmpsclub.com/forum/tech-...nty-fixes.html

Cheers
    Chris
    R36 - Just like an MPS6 except with a growly V6