User Tag List

Thread: taking your mobile overseas

1. Default taking your mobile overseas

OK im a total tech noob.

We both had our phones while overseas and they were switched off the whole time from sydney airport. Last time i had my phone overseas too but was using it for web stuff. I know i got sms's while away but they were all lost and I never got them after i came back to australia.

This time even with my phone off I know both myself and Brett got sent SMS's and they are still lost. His phone also always stuffs up after he comes back from overseas his mail settings etc.

I would have thought having phone turned off is sufficient so SMS's not lost settings dont go weird etc etc .. but like i said I have no idea about techo stuff

WE both just have Nokie E72 phones nothing fancy

Any ideas ?
    Last edited by blackbetty; 17-06-2011 at 04:53 PM.
    Taken my boring, bland, lame Subaru and my fat ass and driven off into the sunset with a smile on my face

got raped with roaming bills, $900 about 2 years back =/

SMSs would be a tricky one methinks as I don't think there's much in the way of network checks that tell you whether an SMS was received by the intended recipient, even within Aust, let alone if it has to be handed off to an overseas carrier.

Just a guess, but I can't recall ever receiving an SMS while being overseas, even with global roaming activated. Might also come down to the agreement your carrier has with the overseas carrier you're connected to at the time

Sent from my iPhone using TapaTalk
    Caff Mobile Mk1 - 2010 Aluminum Gen II | 2XS SRI | H&R Lowered Springs | cpe 75 Duro Engine Mount | Whiteline Rear Swaybar | Moog "Problem Solver" Rear Endlinks | 3M Carbon Black Tint | Lakin Custom Plates | Opti-Coat Paint Protection | Paint Correction by Me - SOLD

Caff Mobile Mk2 - 2008 BMW Z4M Coupe - Sapphire Black Metallic | Stock....for now