User Tag List

Thread: Boost Tapering Suggestions (GT3071R - Stock Block)

Default Boost Tapering Suggestions (GT3071R - Stock Block)

Hey guys,

im bout to put in a big turbo in my 6 MPS (mods in signature)

im after someone's wise words of tuning in regards to boost tapering in at certain RPM ranges due to me planning to do this on stock block.

my original thought:
    planning to have 14PSI to 3500RPM then 18-20PSI till 5500rpm then taper down to 14PSI @6000RPM+

then luke has briefly recommended:
    3500rpm 17-18 psi, 5500rpm 15-16psi, 6000rpm 12-14psi.

any input would be appreciated guys
    Cheers
    ~Ray

Let me start this off by say i'm not an expert and take no responsibility if you blow your engine

If it was me i would start off with something like 15psi to 3500rpm then up to 17psi by 4000rpm and hold that until about 5500rpm then taper down to 15 by 6000rpm. Then review the logged data. If there's no knock, AFR seem to be in a safe range & absolute load isn't over about 200% anywhere then proceed to dial up the boost after 3500rpm. Just for reference with my current tune on the BNR stage 3 i hit 15psi at 3300rpm and taper up to 19psi at 6000rpm before the throttle plate starts to close up.

Have a look through the thread below and see how this guys car goes. He starts posting data logs on post #286 and on that one he holds 19psi to 6700rpm
    ATP 3071r swap how to , lenny gets BT fever too - Page 8 - Mazdaspeed Forums

Also i think you'll have fuel pressure problems and need to upgrade your pump when you start going over 18psi with that turbo but thats just what i think

Good luck mate
    Last edited by Toddy22587; 15-06-2011 at 02:57 AM.

Good hard or go home.

Ditch the foam filter and get a paper (K&N) pod
    Fit it, let it run it's own boost levels (factory set levels) and have it retuned by Tunehouse.

Get a fuel pump upgrade if you decide to run more than 18psi.